Find travel perfection,
with the wisdom
of experts

About Mumbai

Share via

Mumbai (earlier known as Bombay) is the “Gateway of India” and is also the financial capital of India. IcityZoom Travel Guide speaks of its “Unity in diversity” as it embraces people from all cultures, religions and economic backgrounds. Well connected advancements in the city make it a striking manmade structure. It is also known as “City of Dreams” because of the Hindi Film Industry located in the city. Mumbaikars are known to represent the attitude and strength to come out of any kind of natural calamity or political unrest. The name Mumbai has been derived from the name of a Hindu Goddess Mumbadevi. It is the most populous metropolitan city in India and is the sixth most populated metropolitan city in the world.

Mumbai was earlier called Bombay and it lies on the Konkan coast. It is a major hub of industrial and commercial activities that contribute to around 70 % of India’s capital trade and investments. Mumbai tourism has procured a place on global map due to the hindi film industry which is popularly known as ''Bollywood''. Bollywood is one of the largest film industries on this world that makes more than 300 movies a year. The Hindi film industry has many things in it like theater, arts, crafts, documentary films, entertainment films, literary and artistic activities too. IcityZoom Travel Guide gives you all the information about the exotic sites that can be visited in the city.

Mumbai Facts

Area 603 sq km
Latitudinal parallel 18° 55' N
Longitudinal meridian 72° 54' E
Altitude 14 m (46 ft)
Population 11.98 million (Census 2011)
Average Temperature Average Temperature: 32 °C(90 °F) in summer and 30 °C(86 °F) in winter
Desirable Clothes Woollen for winters and light cotton for summers
Rainfall 27.2 °C
Monsoon September
Season Typical monsoon climate, with hot, rainy and cold weather seasons
Best time to visit October and March
STD Code 022
Languages Hindi, English, Marathi
Religions Hindus, Muslims,Buddhists, Zoroastrians, Sikhs,Jews, Jains and Christians —including Catholics